Man Booker Shortlist Revealed

Joshua Ferris, Richard Flanagan, Karen Joy Fowler, Howard Jacobson, Neel Mukherjee and Ali Smith have been announced as the shortlisted authors for the 2014 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.
Their names were revealed by chair of judges, AC Grayling, at a press conference at the headquarters of Man Group, a leading investment management firm and the prize’s sponsor since 2002.
The judges praised the ‘depth and range’ of the list, which includes writers from Britain, the United States and Australia.

The shortlist of six, taken from a longlist of 13, is:

Author (nationality)                     Title (imprint)
Joshua Ferris (US)                         To Rise Again at a Decent Hour (Viking)
Richard Flanagan (Australian)         The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Chatto & Windus)
Karen Joy Fowler (US)                  We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves (Serpent's Tail)
Howard Jacobson (British)             J (Jonathan Cape)
Neel Mukherjee (British)                The Lives of Others (Chatto & Windus)
Ali Smith (British)                           How to be Both (Hamish Hamilton)

- See more at: